Albania will participate in the prestigious Strega Prize Jury 2016

For the World Book Day, the Italian Institute of Culture, in cooperation with the National Library of Albania presents the group of Albanian readers that will be part of the jury of the Strega Prize in 2016.
In the meeting was present the Albanian Minister of Culture, Ms. Mirela Kumbaro.
Strega Prize, the most prestigious Italian literary prize, was founded in 1947 in Rome by Maria and Goffredo Bellonci, with the contribution of Guido Alberti, owner of the factory Liquor Strega Alberti Benevento, manufacturer of liqueurs with the same name. The Prize is awarded annually to a novel, written in Italian and published in the first edition, dated between  1st April  last year and 31 March of this year.

Since this year, Albania will become part of the Strega Prize jury for its Reading Group, coordinated by the Italian Institute of Culture in Tirana. For the first time Albanian readers, consisting of a mix of translators, editors, and sympathetic of Italian culture will be required to see the Italian novels. Strega Prize represents a  great prestige for the novls  and of course for the author. Is calculated that the book which won the Strega Prize have had fivefold sales.

Some writers have won the prize Strega:

Cesare Pavese – La bella estate, 1950
Alberto Moravia – I racconti, 1952
Giorgio Bassani – Cinque storie ferraresi, 1956
Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa – Il Gattopardo, 1959
Primo Levi – La chiave a stella, 1979
Umberto Eco – Il nome della rosa, 1980
Claudio Magris – Microcosmi, 1997
Paolo Giordano – La solitudine dei numeri primi, 2008

13061925_1728824910734840_2560015199519174444_n (1) 13007378_1728824874068177_5205793389662700726_n (1)